Honour Roll

Several past and current members of the North Durban Lions club have been honoured by the club or the District for their long-standing and dedicated service to those in need. This page lists awards and recognition which members have received.

Lion of the Year

Every year, the outgoing club president makes several awards to recognise the hard work of many of the club members during their year in office. In addition to these awards, a member is also recognised as the “Lion of the Year”, with a plaque and recognition for their particularly strong contribution to the clubs successes for the year.

The club’s Lions of the Year have been:

  • 2001-2002: Denise Bolland
  • 2002-2003: Bill Pfaff (*)
  • 2003-2004: Denise Bolland
  • 2004-2005: Ann Lyne
  • 2005-2006: Jane McCarthy
  • 2006-2007: Rob McMorran
  • 2007-2008: Ian Ping
  • 2008-2009: Trevor Hobbs (*)
  • 2009-2010: Phil Meyer (*)
  • 2010-2011: Vicki van Wyk (*)
  • 2011-2012: Bev and Pat Riley
  • 2012-2013: Nick Nicholas
  • 2013-2014: Margo Whitmore and Jimmy Hollows
  • 2014-2015: Phil Meyer (*)
  • 2015-2016: Elaine Turton (*)
  • 2022-2023: Jill Brummer

* – Still serving as a club member

Melvin Jones Fellowship

The Melvin Jones Fellowship honours Melvin Jones, the founder of Lions Clubs International. It is the highest form of recognition conferred by the foundation. It is largely due to the growth of the fellowship program that LCIF has been able to meet humanitarian needs in communities worldwide. In many cases these needs are reflected in the eyes of disadvantaged children, or perhaps made apparent by a common sense of hopelessness shared by the elderly whose community has been unable to care for them. LCIF continually meets needs such as these through the generosity of Lions, and others, who have contributed towards the Melvin Jones Fellowship Program. The names of all Melvin Jones Fellows are electronically shown in continuous rotation in the LCIF Recognition Room at Lions International Headquarters. This exhibit stands as a tribute to a growing network of individuals who are committed to the humanitarian objectives of LCIF.

On several occasions, members who have rendered outstanding service have been made Melvin Jones Fellows by the club or the District in recognition of their service:

Melvin Jones Fellow Year of becoming a Melvin Jones Fellow Notes
Fred Weller 1982
Ann Weller 1982 Partner in Service of Lion Fred Weller
Mike Newlands (†) 1983
Sydney Bardwell (†) 1991
Ian Ping 1993 While a member of the Morningside club
Neil Aubert (*) 1993 While a member of the Morningside club
Bill Wright (†) 1993
Joaquina Henning 2008 While a member of the Phalaborwa club
Trevor Hobbs (*) 2011
Ian Ross (†) 2012
Kim van Wyk (*) 2017 Presented by District 410C for services as District Governor

† – Called to Higher Service
* – Still serving as a club member